island engraving

Eye Island, wood engraving,Peter McLean, 2012

This is the second of the wood engravings I have made in Fiskars, Finland.  A group of nearby lakes forms the shape of an eye on the map, and is my favourite area to go walking.  On my first visit there I was entranced by the light shinning behind this little tree filled islet.  Placing the image in the centre of this elliptical block of apple wood, the whole image has become rather eye-like.

I also posted a photo of this little island a while back on Four Feetour blog about the Fiskars Residency.

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , ,

2 Responses to “island engraving”

  1. annika Says:

    Ooo love the shimmer, looks like a beautiful place 🙂

  2. Pete McLean Says:

    Thanks Annika, it is a beautiful place – I’ve lost count of how many Finnish lakes I’ve been to now.

Leave a Reply

