street fossils

 

 

I came across a whole bunch of concrete fossils recently, on a wet day in Noosaville.  You know, concrete fossils, those special places in the suburban landscape where traces of leaves and other life has been recorded in the man made lithosphere.  It cheers me just a little that urban man’s efforts at dead, uniform, cheerless surfaces can sometimes be subverted by something as simple as leaves falling on wet concrete.  In this case they were the leaves of Paperbark (Melalueca quinquenervia) which had left their imprint on a meandering footpath in this holiday apartment filled former wetland.

Tags: , , , , , ,

2 Responses to “street fossils”

  1. Leonie Says:

    Hi Pete
    I presume the specific irony of M quinquinerva leaves being imprinted in the concrete didn’t pass you by. I was amused to see that the Wikipedia entry for the species notes “Major threats to M.quinquenervia are housing developments, roads, sugar canes and pine plantation”.

  2. meganix Says:

    Hello Pete
    I am enjoying your blog for the first time. Liked your concrete fossils. I have photographed some of these myself in beautiful downtown Stanmore (Sydney), including some that don’t seem to have been left in wet concrete, but are actually stains on set concrete. I also thought I had found some in Vancouver when I was visiting a couple of years ago, but they turned out to have been deliberately etched in the concrete. A very subtle piece of public art.
    http://www.meganix.net/pavement/2009/11/12/autumn-leaves/
    I am a pavement fancier and thank you for introducing me to the terms ‘concrete fossil’ and ‘lithosphere’ which I hadn’t thought of using before.

Leave a Reply

