cork oak camping

cork-oak-camping

Camping in the cork oak plantation recently – I do always find this place rather special, and it was great to be there in the evening and early morning.  I did some drawings, and also a scroll of ink rubbings from the many cut stumps where trees have been cut out for some reason.  Rubbings are a major part of my work at the moment – particularly of tree stumps and stems.  I like the directness of a rubbing – gives a direct recording of the actual shape, size and texture of the object, but also turns it into an ‘image’.

scrollrubbing

Tags: , , , , ,

One Response to “cork oak camping”

  1. artistatexit0 Says:

    Enjoyed visiting your site…made all the more interesting to me since Australia seems so far away. I liked what you said about camping in an earlier post…how it becomes a ritualized space…I couldn’t agree more.
    I appreciate where your imagery comes from and that you keep it open. I work in nature as well and usually on site. If you are interested here is the link to my blog: http://artistatexit0.wordpress.com/

Leave a Reply

