realization

I was in my framing workshop today and had a bit of a realization. I did these magazine cut outs last summer holidays – not really as serious work, just mucking about (but then art is like that – the crucial leaps of imagination are often made when ‘mucking about’). They have been blu-tacked on my (black) studio wall ever since. I sudenly realized today that these pieces are a precursor to the current work I am doing with silhouettes- though with a very different aesthetic and intent. They don’t have any reference to landscape or place, and they obviously don’t represent my own silhouette like the recent work, but they are the first time I can recall using silhouettes of human figures, and the positive/negative aspect appears in some of the more recent works with leaves etc. I have used other silhouettes before – of leaves of course, what else would you expect.

Tags: ,

Leave a Reply

